MCFA، أحماض متعددة الاستخدامات 

يمكن تعريف الأحماض العضوية على أنها مركبات عضوية ذات خصائص حمضية ومرتبطة بمجموعة الكاربوكسيل الخاصة بها “COOH-“، ومن المهم فهم خصائصها الكيميائية المختلفة وتعديل هذه المكونات للوصول للحل الأمثل للتحدي القائم، وعلى الرغم من أنه يمكن تصنيف الأحماض الدهنية متوسطة السلسلة MCFA في فئة الأحماض العضوية، إلا أن تركيبها الكيميائي يختلف عن الأحماض العضوية القياسية، ولهذا تستمر MCFA في إثبات تنوعها في تربية الحيوانات السليمة وتقديمها لمجموعة واسعة من الأثار المفيدة على مستوى الأعلاف والحيوان. 

المضاد البكتيري؟ pKa وHLB 

يمكن تقسيم الأحماض إلى عدة مجموعات فرعية بالاعتماد على تركيبها الجزيئي وخصائصها الكيميائية (الشكل 1)، ويوجد عاملان هما قيمة pKa وHLB، وهما من العوامل الرئيسية التي تحدد القدرة المضادة للبكتيريا ونقلل الرقم الهيدروجيني للأحماض المختلفة. 

لكل حمض قيمة pKa الخاصة به، والتي تساوي الرقم الهيدروجيني عندما يكون 50% من الحمض في شكله الغير منفصل و50% الأخرى في شكله المنفصل، فإذا كان الرقم الهيدروجيني البيئي أقل من قيمة pKa الثابتة، سيتحول الحمض إلى شكله الغير مرتبط، وإذا كان الرقم الهيدروجيني أعلى من قيمة pKa للحمض، سيتحول الحمض لشكله المنفصل، وبهذه الطريقة، فالأحماض مثل الفورميك (pKa= 3.75)، اللبنيك (pKa= 3.86)، الفورماريك (pKa= 3.02)، وحمض الستريك (pKa= 3.10) هي أحماض مثالية لخفض درجة الحموضة، وأما حمض البروبيونيك (pKa=4.88)، حمض الزبدة (pKa= 4.82)، حمض الخليك (pKa=4.76) وأخيرًا MCFA (pKa= 5) فهذه أحماض غير مرتبطة، وتستطيع هذه الأحماض الاقتراب من البكتيريا سالبة الشحنة والقيام بدور المضاد البكتيري، بدلًا من تقليل درجة الحموضة. 

الشكل 1: الأحماض العضوية المستخدمة تجاريًا 

حتى بداخل مجموعة الأحماض المضادة للميكروبات، هناك فرق كبير في الفعالية، ويمكن تفسير ذلك بشكل أساسي من خلال الاختلافات في عامل التوازن الزيتي المائي (HLB) وهو تعبير عن نسبة الأجزاء المحبة للماء على الكارهة للماء في الجزيء، ويتكون غشاء الخلية من الدهون المفسفرة مزدوجة الألفة، وهذا يعني أنها تحتوي على جزء محب للماء وآخر محب للدهون، ولكي يكون الحمض عاملًا فعالًا لزعزعة استقرار غشاء الخلية البكتيرية يجب أن يكون HLB لجزيء الحمض مشابه لغشاء الخلية البكتيرية، وتُظهر MCFA بشكل خاص هذا التشابه الكبير، مما أدى إلى كونها الأفضل كمضادة للبكتيريا. 

الجدول 1: مقارنة بين قيم MIC لكل من MCFA والأحماض الأخرى (في النشاط المضاد للبكتيريا في المختبر) 

من الواضح أن العديد من الخصائص الأخرى مثل الحالة الفيزيائية، الرائحة، الذوق هي أيضًا من العوامل المهمة لتحديد وظيفة الأحماض المختلفة، معالجتها والإجراءات المتبعة عند استخدامها. 

طريقة العمل 

للأحماض العضوية إجراءات مختلفة اعتمادًا على خصائصها الكيميائية المحددة، وربما يكون تنظيم الحموضة هو التأثير الأكثر شهرة للأحماض العضوية، وعادة ما تنفصل الأحماض مثل حمض الفورميك، الفوماريك واللاكتيك عند ملامستها للماء، مما يؤدي إلى انخفاض قيمة الرقم الهيدروجيني، وبهذه الطريقة، قد تؤدي الأحماض العضوية ذات قيمة pKa المنخفضة إلى تأثير بكتيري في الحيوان، مياه الشرب أو الأعلاف، ويؤدي انخفاض درجة الحموضة في المعدة أيضًا إلى تحسين عملية هضم البروتين. 

المجموعة الثانية من الأحماض لها تأثيرات مباشرة ومضادة للبكتيريا، وهذه المجموعة مهمة بشكل خاص فيما يتعلق بتقليل المضادات الحيوية، وعادة ما تنطوي على أحماض ذات قيمة عالية نسبيًا من pKa، وستبقى هذه الأحماض غير منفصلة، وتزعزع استقرار غشاء الخلية البكتيرية، وتُزعج التمثيل الغذائي البكتيري عن طريق تقليل درجة الحموضة داخل الخلايا واقتحام الحمض النووي، وتتفوق MCFA على أي نوع آخر من الأحماض في هذا الصدد نظرًا لارتفاع قيمة pKa وHLB، علاوة على ذلك تعمل MCFA كمضاد للبكتيريا مباشرة على مستوى المعدة مقارنة بالأحماض المغلفة والانتقائية تجاه Enterobacteriaceae، مما يترك بكتيريا العصيات اللبنية المفيدة كما هي. 

تشمل طرق العمل الأخرى التي يمكن التطرق لها بشكل أكبر لأحماض معينة بعض التحسينات على مورفولوجيا القناة الهضمية (على سبيل المثال: الزغب الطويل، نسبة الزغب الأعلى..)، تقليل ضراوة العوامل الممرضة (مثل السالمونيلا)، تحسين المناعة (مثل انخفاض الالتهاب وطول عمر الخلايا المتعادلة)، خصائصها المضادة للفطريات وخصائصها المضادة للفيروسات، ويعطي الجدول 2 نظرة عامة وشاملة على تأثيرات الأحماض المختلفة على هذه المستوى، وفي الآونة الأخيرة تم إثبات تأُيرات MCFA ضد الأمراض الفيروسية الناشئة والمختلفة مثل PRRS، PED وASF علميًا من قبل مراكز الأبحاث والجامعات المستقلة. 

الجدول 2: نظرة عامة على أنشطة الأحماض المختلفة، “+” تشير إلى تأثير إيجابي، “0” تشير إلى عدم وجود تأثير، “-” تشير باحتمالية وجود تأثير سلبي، و”0/+” حمض أصلي ليس له تأُثير، ولكن ربما يوجد لمشتقاته تأثير ما. 

التطبيقات والحلول 

اعتمادًا على الخصائص والإجراءات الكيميائية، من الممكن تحديد الحلول الأكثر ملائمة للتحديات المختلفة، بالنسبة لتطبيقات محددة للغاية، يمكن أن تبقى الأحماض العضوية البسيطة هي الحل الأكثر شيوعًا، ومن ناحية أخرى، بناءً على تنوع الاجراءات ونقاط القوة، تقدم MCFA مجموعة واسعة من الفوائد، ومن خلال تطبيق الخبرة لتحسين الحلول التي تستعين بالأحماض الدهنية متوسطة السلسلة، طورت Agrimprove حلولًا محددة ومركزة على التحديات المختلفة، وبهذه الطريقة، أطلقت شركة Agrimprove مؤخرًا نظام التغذية بالمحلول والمُعتمد على MCFA بنسبة 100% للتخفيف من انتشار الفيروسات المقنعة عبر الأعلاف، وEubisol هو مزيج تآزري من الأحماض العضوية وMCFA لتحسين صحة الحيوان بمرونة باستخدام مياه الشرب. 

خبير agrimprove الخاص بك

Kobe Lannoo
Category manager pigs

Stay up-to-date

Would you like to be kept informed of our latest developments? Register here and stay up to date.

I'm interested in(Required)

Agrimprove can store and use my personal information to respond to my request, as stipulated in the privacy policy.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

MCFA, versatile acids

Organic acids can be defined as organic compounds with acidic properties associated with their carboxyl group ‘-COOH’. It is of high importance to understand the different chemical properties and actions of these components to choose the most optimal solution for the challenge in place. Although MCFA can be classified in the category of organic acids, their chemical structure differs from standard organic acids. In this way, MCFA continue to prove their versatility in raising healthy animals by offering a broad range of beneficial effects on feed and animal level.

Antibacterial? pKa and HLB

Acids can be divided in several subgroups depending on their molecular structure and chemical characteristics (Figure 1). Two properties, the pKa and HLB value, are major factors determining the antibacterial and pH reducing capability of the different acids.

Each acid has its own pKa value which is equal to the pH at which 50% of the acid appears in its undissociated form and 50% in its dissociated form. If the environmental pH is lower than the fixed pKa value, the acid will shift towards its undissociated form. When the environmental pH is higher than the pKa value of the acid, the acid will shift towards its dissociated form. In this way, acids such as formic (pKa = 3.75), lactic (pKa = 3.86), fumaric (pKa = 3.02) and citric acid (pKa = 3.10) are typical pH-reducing acids while propionic acid (pKa = 4.88), butyric acid (pKa = 4.82), acetic acid (pKa = 4.76) and MCFA (pKa = 5) will remain more undissociated enabling these acids to approach negatively charged bacteria and act antibacterial, rather than reducing the pH.

Figure 1: Commercially used organic acids

Even within the group of antimicrobial acids there is a large difference in effectiveness. This can be mainly explained by differences in the hydrophilic lipophilic balance (HLB) which is an expression of the ratio of hydrophilic over hydrophobic parts in a molecule. A bacterial cell membrane consists out of phospholipids which are amphiphilic, meaning that they contain a hydrophilic and a lipophilic part. For an acid to be an efficient destabilizer of the bacterial cell membrane, the HLB of the acid molecule must be similar to that of the bacterial cell membrane. Especially MCFA show this great similarity on HLB resulting in the highest antibacterial effect (Table 1).

Table 1: MIC value comparison between MCFA and other acids (in vitro antibacterial activity)

Obviously many other properties such as physical state, smell and taste are also important factors determining application, processing and actions of the different acids.

Mode of action

Organic acids have different actions depending on their specific chemical characteristics. Regulation of the acidity is probably the most well-known effect of organic acids. Acids such as formic, fumaric and lactic acid will typically dissociate when coming in contact with water, resulting in a reduction of the pH value. In this way, organic acids with a low pKa value might exert a bacteriostatic effect in the animal, in drinking water or in feeds. A pH reduction in the stomach also leads to better protein digestion.

A second group of acids has direct antibacterial effects. This group is particularly important with regard to the reduction of antibiotics and typically entails acids with a relatively high pKa value. These acids will remain undissociated, destabilize the microbial cell membrane and disturb the bacterial metabolism by reducing the intracellular pH and intercalation with DNA. MCFA are outperforming any other type of acids in this respect due to their high pKa value and optimal HLB. Furthermore, MCFA act antibacterial directly at stomach level in comparison to coated acids and are selective towards Enterobacteriaceae leaving the beneficial Lactobacilli untouched.

Other modes of action which are more assignable to specific acids include improvements of gut morphology (e.g. longer villi, higher villi:cryp ratio…), reducing pathogen virulence (e.g. Salmonella), improving immunity (e.g. longevity neutrophils, decreased inflammation…), antifungal and antiviral properties. Table 2 gives a comprehensive overview on the effects of different acids on this level. Lately the effects of MCFA against different emerging viral diseases like PRRS, PED and ASF have been scientifically proven by independent research institutes and universities.

Table 2: Overview of activities of different acids. ‘+’ = positive impact, ‘0’ = no impact, ‘-‘ = can have negative effect, ‘0/+’ = native acid has no effect, but derivatives have some.

Applications and solutions

Depending on the chemical characteristics and actions, it’s possible to define the most suited solutions for different challenges. For very specific applications, simple organic acids might still be the most desired solution. On the other hand, based on the versatility of actions and strengths, MCFA offer a broader range of benefits. By applying expertise in optimizing MCFA based solutions, Agrimprove has developed specific solutions focused on different challenges. In this way, Agrimprove has recently launched the 100% MCFA-based solution FeedLock to mitigate the spreading of enveloped viruses via feed and Eubisol, a synergistic mixture of organic acids and MCFA to improve animal health in a flexible way via drinking water.

Your Agrimprove Expert

Kevin Vanneste
Product manager
+324 99 23 90 97